Back into the Fray!

Eventually it had to happen, though sooner than I thought. Tyria hasn’t changed, but the game machines – it’s almost like playing a new game and that in itself was way beyond fun! Wanting to relive that first moment is always a gamers dream and playing GW2 after such a long hiatus (I’m sure it’s been over a year now) was just that – I was playing a new game.

All it takes is some flowers!

All it takes is some flowers!

So many features have changed. Not only have the skills and traits been reorganized, but the Hero panel has been reshuffled with costumes, dyes, and miniature added to the mix. The bank has an extra icon, one that looks like a wardrobe containing all the armour/weapon skins you’ve unlocked and, you know what, I quite like them. The process of hitting a new level has also changed. When you level up you receive rewards, but you are also told what rewards to expect from future levels and that, I think is quite neat – knowing what to expect. Heart quests are completed out in the field which I think is good, less running back and forth to return the quests which means more time spent exploring. New icons have been added to the mini-map. You see a little flashing icon if you’re close to an undiscovered area, namely those that don’t show up on the map and icons of chests when you’re close to hidden treasure, like the chest at the end of a jumping puzzle. Jumping puzzles!! Well, those have remained the same – frustrating as ever. I always stop breathing when I do those, letting out a little yelp after having made a precariously terrifying leap to a ledge which seems miles away. Talk about stress levels reaching a high! I noticed there was also another icon depicting a little man doing a roll. You go to the spot and you learn how to dodge. I guess that’s probably something you’ll only find in a starting area and I’m still in Caledon Forest. I created a Sylvari Ranger. Eventually I’ll go back to my main, Selir (Norn Ranger) and get her all sorted, but for now I’m hitting a new learning curve and I quite like it.

The Grand Plaza

The Grand Plaza

Tyria is still as beautiful as ever and since I’ve upgraded from a series 9 graphics card to a GTX 770 and a new 27” HD monitor the world is a tremendously colourful place and I love having beautiful graphics. Lion’s Arch is way beyond amazing! I ran around like a girl in a gadget store wanting to buy every technological marvel. The beautiful city is the same size as it was, but it feels so huge. I lost my way quite a few times. The Grand Plaza is crazy-huge and the Mystic Forge – magical. I jumped in and changed into a sparkly alien-like creature. Now that would be a neat costume to wear!

Magical sparkly alien

Magical sparkly alien

So many beautiful buildings and remnants of the battle Lion’s Arch went through. So much history. So much lore. I guess that’s why I loved GW in the first place. I was worried that the majestic lion had disappeared. I mean you can’t have Lion’s Arch without a lion, but I found him, still majestic but not as golden, standing guard over the Fractals gateway and all the other gateways. I was happy.

New Lion!

New Lion!

……and GW2 hasn’t backed down on the unexpected either. So there I was with my pet Tigger, wondering the streets of Lion’s Arch and I come across a Norn and a dog called Tommy’s Dog. I walked up close and the “Charm” indicator comes up on my UI and I say “Oooh a new pet” and I charm him……and the Norn begins to cry…..and I realize what I did and I feel so bad. I unintentionally took his pet and I really felt bad. I mean how often do you get that in a game? – you end up feeling bad for an NPC. So, anyway, as you do in GW2 you wait around to see what’s going to happen next. Sure enough another dog comes along, falls in love with Tommy and becomes his pet and Tommy laughs about it, happy that he’s not alone any more. GW2 never disappoints!

Don't cry Tommy, doggy's back!

Don’t cry Tommy, doggy’s back!

…..and as GW2 never disappoints neither do the players who run around in Tyria. Thanks to an amazing blogger and friend, HeadBurro Antfarm, I joined his guild and met some really nice players…..and he was right! When you adventure in Tyria with a group of people it is a whole new experience and a fun one at that – jumping puzzles especially! I think I’m going to be spending more time than I had anticipated. Tyria is feeling like home again.

……and I might finally get to kill Zhaitan!

The adventure begins!

The adventure begins!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Back into the Fray!

  1. Yay! It’s so nice to be adventuring with so many of my friends from G+ and the blogging world (hopefully, from Second Life too one day). The wee guild is starting to feel alive and fun and like somewhere I’d like to hang out 🙂

    And I love that dog story – I had no idea that was a thing! Brilliant! 😀

    • I came across Tommy when you all had logged off. I decided that I could explore a bit more of Lion’s Arch. It’s those little episodes that have always amazed me about GW2…..you never know what you’re gonna get! 🙂

      And the guild does feel comfortable – fun and laughter seem to come easy. I think you’ve got a good thing going there! 🙂 Very glad to have joined! 🙂 🙂

  2. oh hello 😀 am also part of GGG – have we met yet? 🙂 (main is elfa seren)

    will be playing again soonish anyway.

    I’m completely new to GW2 and its so pretty – really looking forward to exploring more 🙂

    • Hiya! 🙂 I don’t believe we have met. My character name is Vahya, while my handle (the account name that appears next to your character name) is Dawl. So no matter how many characters you create your handle name always remains the same.

      GW2 is very pretty and I think you’re going to end up having alot of beautiful photos to add to the ones on your site 😛 and there is no end to exploration 🙂 🙂

      Looking forward to meeting you 🙂 till then 🙂

  3. MAAAAAAATE! Are you still playing in GW2? I never saw you again after this 😦 How about ESO? it’s £7 right now 🙂

    http://www.cdkeys.com/pc/games/elder-scrolls-online-tamriel-unlimited-multiple-windows-and-mac-pc-cd-key

    • Hiya! I haven’t played GW2 in a loooooong time. I got bored so I jumped back into Star Wars. Seeing that ESO is so cheap I would go for it. I LOVE the Elder Scrolls lore. ESO is fun. Yes, it has the typical quest stuff, but the dungeons are so neat and the environment is so cool and I just explore and come across some amazing stuff and some really good stories. It will take some getting used to, but it’s fun. I love the idea of being whatever I want to be. I can wield a bow and arrow and have some neat magic tricks or have a cool sword and use magic and sword or whatever you wish! lol And the books! Oh wow so many of them to read, so many stories.

      Take the leap. Give it a go! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

