The Single-Player Bandwagon

Logging in after such a long period is quite refreshing. It’s taken me quite a while to pick up the pen (metaphorically) and begin writing again. Though, come to think of it “picking up the pen” is not really a metaphor to me as that is what I actually do – first pen and paper, then keyboard. I’m quite a traditionalist in today’s age of tablets and smartphones. There’s something about picking up a pen and jotting down stuff that seems to stimulate those grey cells and what are those grey cells thinking of at the moment – the games I played since I last blogged anything down.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t really want to play MMOs any more with the exception of Star Wars: The Old Republic. In actual fact, I’ve always been a solo player. Throughout my MMO gaming life-span I’ve never really played with anybody. I guess I’m not much of a talker when I’m playing games. I’m not really interested in talking in games at all. I just want to lose myself in the world I’m in, be concerned with the fate of the characters. I don’t want to grind and read endless chat of things going up for sale (a common issue with Elder Scrolls Online). Some may say, “but you can immerse yourself in MMOs”, may be……sometimes…….well not really with people running in the same space as you are. I tried doing that in Elder Scrolls Online, but it just didn’t work, which is a shame considering the lore. However, the MMO I will always keep returning to – my go-to MMO as it where – is SWTOR. I just love that universe. I love lightsabers……and the force…..and who wouldn’t want to be a lightning-storm-wielding Sith Lord.

Lord Vel'era.

Lord Vel’era. “Peace is a lie, there is only passion”

There are many gamers who say the game is a flop, but I honestly don’t care. I don’t care about endgame, I don’t care about PvP (payer vs player). I care about the story and the characters. I suppose this is one factor that drove me away from MMOs into the loving arms of single player RPGs (role playing games).

So what have I been playing? Well, my first rule of thumb, if it has dragons then it’s awesome! That’s why I found myself playing Skyrim. I got into it in 2013, 2 years after its first release. I had forgotten all about it’s amazing launch trailer and the stunning soundtrack, but luckily it came up in my YouTube list of things to watch, coupled that with YouTuber Gopher’s Let’s Plays and I was well and truly hooked. I got the MMO feel without having to play an MMO. Character creation, open world, crafting, story, combat, no grind and no chat, plus my own housing and horse which didn’t cost an arm and a leg. As I bought the Legendary edition of the game I got all the DLCs (downloadable content), and transforming into a werewolf or vampire and being a Dragonborn was just the bomb. Obviously I ended up buying the enormous game guide, so I was set……534 hours into the game and I haven’t finished it yet!

Then one day my brother sends me a text message that there was a game up for sale on Steam that I might actually enjoy. I laughed when he texted me the name, Dragon Age: Origins. No way! Come on! I fell in love! I fell in love with the story, the characters……..I fell in love with Alistair!

Alistair, just being a Grey Warden

Alistair, just being a Grey Warden

Though my character hasn’t romanced him yet. I guess I’ll have to go back and play again! Naturally, I read up on it as I did with the Elder Scrolls and obviously I had to get the second installment and Dragon Age: Inquisiton was a no brainer. My word, what a game and playing it on a new machine running a GTX 770 was spectacular. Keep in mind so far I had been playing all games on a GT 9600 so you can picture the scene as I dived into Inquisition. So beautiful! So beyond anything I had seen before. Metal objects shone in the sunlight, Godrays filtered through the trees and the story…….OMG.

Look up. Perfect!

Look up. Perfect!

There was one particular scene (the characters’ journey to Skyhold)  which just blew me out of the water and had me shed a tear or two. It was like being in a movie and I got so involved with what was going on, not to mention the characters …….oh Cullen, my love!

A hero in arms!

A hero in arms!

I’m on my 2nd playthrough. I still have to play The Jaws of Hakkon, the first DLC. I’m a slow player and anyway in the meantime I jumped into Mass Effect. I came late to the franchise.

Oh my! So many games to catch up with; Fallout: New Vegas, The Witcher franchise, Dishonored. I have quite the list. I’m not going to run out of games to play anytime soon!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

