The Adventure Continues!

Ok! So it’s gone passed the one month mark and Guild Wars 2 is still giving me tons of fun and lots to do. I’ve ventured into Tyria uncovering about 45% of the world map; have managed to get to level 70 on my Norn Ranger trying to keep abreast with my story line…..now that has been a blast. At one point along the story line I get to go to Claw Island and feel like a hero. It was so cool, it was ridiculous! I threw myself into the fry, slaughtering the undead and firing powered arrows into the Plaguebringer. Oh, yes! The power is mine! May Tyria breathe a sigh of relief as I mow down all the evil that dwells in those infernal bogs. Blimey how I hate those bogs!

Down with you, villain!

…..anyway, there I was standing triumphant as we, the defenders, revelled in our victory, successfully protecting Claw Island from the vicious onslaught. I was told to speak to the lieutenants of the three orders and was thanked by all of them, but that’s not what got me grinning like a school girl…..wait for it……the members of the three orders actually bowed before me! I mean….OH….MY….GOSH! There I sat clapping with glee, declaring myself, in no mean terms, that I am of noble heart, a heroic persona adventuring in Tyria, protecting the innocent! ……and Gus, my cat, continued licking his paws thoroughly unimpressed. No appreciation, I tell you, none whatsoever!

……and I have decided that I want an undead Orrian Chicken! I was so gobsmacked on being attacked by these pesky creatures that I completely forgot to snap a picture. They are so horribly cute! So there you are trying to dispatch the undead while these annoying chickens attack your ankles. Hilarious actually. Oh and another thing…..those undead Asuras! Bloody hell! They are actually scary. The little buggers remind me of Chucky. I hate Chucky. He gave me horrible nightmares. So I slaughter those undead blighters with gusto! “Take that you evil little pest!

Ah yes! GW2 is full of surprises!

The bat cave in GW2!

A while ago I decided to do a dungeon. Twilight Arbour. I have to be honest I really didn’t enjoy it at all.  It definitely is a money sink and we didn’t even get to finish it. I don’t have a problem with dying and repairing, but come on! It got to a point where it became ridiculous. I know dungeons are supposed to be a challenge and I like that, but when it starts becoming grind-ish and actually tiring it stops being fun. I don’t know whether I’ll do a dungeon again. I actually don’t know if it’s worth the hassle. For a dungeon to be fun I think the group really should know what it’s doing and there should be some semblance of group support. In my case the dungeon run felt very solo even if I was in a group. I was on my Norn Ranger using a short bow, war horn and axe as my secondary set. I tried to take care of the poisonous blossoms, shooting them with my arrows to try and keep the rest of the group safe. I managed it for a while, but the silence in the group just bugged me. Why doesn’t anybody say what they’re going to do, it’s like everybody else has to second guess what the others are doing and it’s so annoying. I thought GW2 was supposed to aid communication, we’re on the same side……this was supposed to be an easy thing. For the first time ever, in my short history of playing MMOs, this is the only time I have experienced silence in the world map chat. Somebody at some point might ask something, but otherwise idle chat has ceased. The chat that comes through is guild chat which is a good thing……there are people around…..phew! Though I guess this is to be expected. There is so much to do and see in GW2 that players don’t seem to have the time to stop and chat any more. Good? Bad? Hmmmm.

This past week I haven’t played much in Tyria due to real life obligations – going back to work after a long holiday things were kind of hectic. Hopefully, now that things have settled I’ll be jumping back on the bandwagon and taking up my role of ravishing heroine!

Selir in all her finery!

Categories: Articles, Guild Wars 2 | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

