GW2! A week old!

A week ago today, I woke at 4.00am to be in TeamSpeak with my guildies, so that we would be standing by the doors when GW2 launched. So many things have been accomplished during this week. I have reached level 29 (will probably get to level 30 later on today) because I am an intentionally slow player. There have been players in my guild who have already reached level cap – level 80 and there has even been one player (not in my guild) by the name of MisterSLIN who has actually completed the entire world map of GW2. There have been game crashes, guild bugs, the Trading Post isn’t working. There have been hackers you have stolen accounts, people you have exploited known bugs in the game and were banned (Kudos goes to ArenaNet for being strict and sticking to the TOS)……..all in all a very entertaining week!

A girl likes her bling!

I started off in Hoelbrak and have progressed through the Shiverpeak Mountains, with the occasional pop-over-to-Lion’s Arch to throw things in the Mystic Forge. I did jump over to Divinity’s Reach once and explored a bit of Queensdale, but only because I wanted to reach my required level to be able to continue my storyline……and to just visit Divinity’s Reach……I just love that city! I just love wandering around. A bit of storyline, dynamic events, hearts, gathering material for my crafting professions, killing anything in sight…….so relaxed, but the one thing I enjoy the most is coming across things quite unexpected.

……so there I was exploring the Shiverpeaks and I came upon an outpost. I sold some of my junk and just stood around observing (I tend to do a lot of that) when I overheard one of the NPCs saying that they needed to gather wood to build a bridge, but were bothered that the Dredge might stop them, but they still needed the wood. So off they ran towards the forest. Aha, I said, interesting. So I followed them. They reached a wooded area and proceeded to chop the trees, when suddenly the Dredge appeared…….fun……other players just ran up and fought them with me. We killed all the Dredge. The other players left, but I stayed. The woodcutters collected the wood and headed back to the outpost. I followed. When we arrived back they were told to start building the bridge. Interesting, I couldn’t see a bridge, just a very long drop. Ok, I thought, pretending to build something……….but, oh, wrong! Suddenly the bridge materialized in front of my eyes! I mean, come on, these NPCs just built a bridge and now were assembling a caravan to walk across it to another outpost! I mean WOW! This was real. I could cross the bridge now and a few minutes before I was wondering how to get to the other side. ArenaNet weren’t kidding when they said this was a living, breathing world and what you did actually effected the world around you……..if I hadn’t helped the woodcutters the Dredge might have killed them and the bridge wouldn’t have been built! Crazy! Amazing! Fun!

Another thing which has had me in a jitter are those blasted jumping puzzles. Some are pretty straight forward, but some just…….ooooh…….just test more than your patience! Yesterday I decided to do the Sharkmaw Cavern jumping puzzle with a pirate’s hidden treasure at the end of it. Ok! Good! I like treasure! The beginning was pretty ok…..the spirit of the pirate showed you the way. How sweet, helpful, I thought! WRONG! He’s a crafty bugger that pirate! He leads you to this huge cavern (after having climbed and fallen and died oh so many times already!) which is completely in the dark. You can’t even see a fly on the wall it’s so dark!  So while you’re trying to find the jumps without falling, this pirate just keeps on laughing! At one point I wanted to wring his neck! I fell so many times, but then I found a torch, pirate style……pirate says “Hey that’s cheating!” I say to him “Eat my dust!” The lit torch didn’t last long, but I managed to see some ledges here and there……till finally I got to the last one. Oh – thank – the – spirits! I was so ready to give up! But no! Ain’t going to let some measly, transparent pirate defeat me, a Norn! No way! Reached the final, huge flat rock and was faced with three waterfalls. I chose the one that looked most dangerous and I seemed to have picked the right one! Down I fell into a pool to be greeted by that voice again. Ooooh wait till I get my hands on him! Oh! Beautiful cavern with treasure! Nice! Very nice! Then he says I’m going to be stuck there forever with him……..like…….YEAH!……no! Ha! Ha! Found my way out through a hole in the wall not before grabbing the loot. All in all satisfying when you finally get to the end of it, but boy, oh boy, I could have done with a bit of rum!

“Hey, Mr. Pirate! Eat my dust!”

Yes! Guild Wars 2 is a HUGE entertainment park and I’ve only just started my adventure. I’m going to need a truck full of cookies (chocolate chip) to help me on my way. Need LOADS of energy for all that trekking!

……now where did I put the rum!

Pink is so pretty!

Categories: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “GW2! A week old!

  1. Hiya mate, it sounds like you are having a blast! Me too 🙂 I’m levelling slowly like you but I’ve decided not to go down the alt route yet and instead take 1 guy a far down the story path as I can without burning out it getting bored (I can’t see either happening though). So far I’m 15, just completed Queensdale and about to enter the next phase of my personal story and I’m having a riot of fun 😀

    • I’m working on one character as well. I made the others so as to have the names. It’s fun knowing that I have other characters to play though! 🙂 In the meantime I managed to get to level 30 on my Norn Ranger and unlocked my Elite skill. I so love exploring every inch of the region that I’m in. I go down into every cave and jump over any rock I see 😀 Whole of Tyria is a blast! Glad you’re having a fantastic time too, after all that’s why we’re playing it! 😀

  2. I first experienced that jumping puzzle with my thief (how appropriate eh?) as is usually the case since he’s my “explorer” character (the one I tend to use when seeing content for the first time) and I used the Cluster Bomb skill from my shortbow to not only light my own way through the “dark room,” but to also guide those who were with me at the time through it. Such a fun experience!

    Again… apologies for the tardiness of my comment 😉

    • Now that is a neat skill to have! I fell so many times that eventually I knew where the ledges were even in the dark 😀 I’m always looking around for that hidden puzzle that nobody has found yet! Fun, fun and fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

