BWE3 Phase Two – Asura

Ah the sweet little buggers! It’s one thing watching a YouTube video of the asuras, it’s another thing actually having a go yourself. Creating sweet little Qamar (yes, I named her after my blog, it actually suited her!) was a charm, though it would have been neat if there were more hairstyles. At present I find it a bit limited, as with the faces, but I’m sure that’s what the sliders are for……..make your own particular little genius!

Qamar! The little darling!

Jumping into the starter area I felt the complete noob. So far that has always happened to me between one BWE and the other and I have had to learn the skills all over again……..and in actual fact, it’s not a bad thing really. Anyway, before I get carried away here, it was like “come on, let’s find all those nooks and crannies” and there were.

Come on then, how about a game of chess?!

One of them was actually discovering the asura. The animations were hilarious, the best I’ve ever seen. I loved the way they jump and the way they start off running……and boy, do they run – making up for their size, of course. I enjoyed playing chess, took me a while to figure it out though, but when I did it was just fun……..you’ve got to love the mini-games. They just add that little something more to the game. The story-line wasn’t too bad, but I didn’t get far along the line. I didn’t really want to spoil it for myself now that the game is very close.

Yet one thing which bothered me slightly was the lack of dynamic events. May be because I was in the overflow, I have no idea, but dynamic events were few and far between……..and this is a first for me. So far in every zone that I’ve been, human, norn, charr, sylvari the dynamic events have been constant. In fact, it has been a problem actually doing them all, there have been so many, but here, with the asura, it actually felt very quiet. I didn’t move from heart to heart, I just drifted. I explored and then if I happen to be close to a heart I would do it and yet no dynamic event was triggered. I am hoping that it’s because I was in the overflow, but even then that’s not too neat. At one point everybody is going to be sent to the overflow because the server is full and we will all want the same experiences that we get in the actual server. So I was actually ‘shocked’ (for use of a better word) that I found myself grinding to gain levels as I was below the required  level to continue my personal story. Most of us have already experienced BWEs and we know that it isn’t that difficult to level and to be at par with your personal story – gaining experience through exploration, dynamic events, hearts, crafting, WvWvW, sPvP, you name it – so it was indeed strange that I found it hard to level because nothing was going on. I was exploring the Obscura Incline and we were so few, two or three at best and for the first time the world felt empty. I honestly don’t know what to make of it. It’s definitely not what I’m used to……..and it’s such a shame because the asura area is so neat and there are these crazy jumping puzzles to do. So I’m keeping my fingers crossed and blaming it on the overflow!

Another thing that was really surprising was the lack of helpful players. In BWE1 I would be downed and 3 – 4 players would come to resurrect me, this time around 2 players actually walked over me before somebody came to give me a hand. May be it’s because there were more new players due to all those beta keys given out and they didn’t realize that even by reviving a downed player they would gain experience points and achievements. Don’t they realize that GW2 is a community game –  hence the name – Guild Wars!

Also I felt the experience to be easier compared to the other BWEs. In BWE1 I felt I had to be really careful…….think things out before going in for the kill. I had to think about the skills, how to use them and how and when to dodge. This time I felt I didn’t need to dodge that much, just thrashed the keys “noob-style” (that’s how I used to do it before I learnt that’s not how you do it). I played an asura elementalist. Could it be that it’s because the elementalist is so strong and doesn’t need to dodge as much as a ranger? I don’t want the game to be too easy. I want it to be a bit more of a challenge. I want to feel a sense of accomplishment, that I really deserve the rewards that I get.

Hmmmm………we shall see. May be I’m becoming really good at it!

What I do know is that I adore the asura. They are cute, they are loveable and clever…….I like being clever! So there is no doubt really, I will eventually make an Asura, as I will make all the rest………but I don’t think the asura will be my main character.

Now that’s a neat “washing line”!

Categories: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “BWE3 Phase Two – Asura

  1. I didn’t play one this weekend but I did venture into Metrica Province and it was amazing! The little buggers are sooooo funny! Every time they open their mouth its to utter something that just makes me snort (my favourite was the retort to an often unheard explanation from a fellow Asura “Well that was stupid…” in a really cutting tone). This weekend has pushed these guys into my number 3 slot. I’ll be playing a human first to experience the story but in all honesty, the Sylvari & Asura have rendered the old Homo Sapiens more than a tad boring 😀

    • Absolutely! 😀 I think this game is going to keep me entertained for quite some time! 🙂

    • That echoes my experience of the asura area. Although the visuals are incredible, the thing that left a lasting impression on me were the sounds and conversations I heard as I walked through Rata Sum. I was chuckling almost the whole time. I’m going to lose a lot of hours there just listening to the game.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

